Bruce and Kay Broderius receive United Way of Weld County Humanitarians of the Year for 2015

LP5L5847Bruce and Kay Broderius were honored as the 2015 United Way of Weld County Humanitarians of the Year at the Tillers Club Reception on Dec. 1 in Greeley.

The award was created in 1989 with Kenneth Monfort as its first recipient. The award recognizes people who have rendered outstanding volunteer and philanthropic service.

In Bruce’s response to how he lives united, the former high school social studies and science teacher, college professor and the former dean of college of education for the University of Northern Colorado said: “Education is my game. Children serve as our name.”

Bruce, 80, said he tries to help with a variety of challenges and opportunities to make the community supportive of all members. “Education provides and refines the abilities to read, write and think critically,” Bruce said. “I am often reminded that there is little difference between those who don’t read and those that can’t read.”

United Way of Weld County President and CEO Jeannine Truswell said the Broderius’ were so deserving of the honor. “Bruce and Kay, who both started out as classroom teachers, know what it’s like to work in a classroom and help provide those special moments of learning that only a teacher and student understand,” Truswell said. “They know the importance of making sure children are ready for school and that many children and families need extra support and assistance to succeed.”

Bruce and Kay said it was special to be selected for the United Way humanitarian honor.“It is very humbling to be in that company of people who have made huge differences and lasting differences in the community,” Bruce said.

Kay, 77, said the names of the previous honorees are mind boggling to her. “They are people that I’ve come to know and respect for what they’ve done for this community, and to be the latest recipient of this award is just overwhelming and makes me very proud that Bruce and I have served the community in a manner that we can be recognized for this,” Kay said.

Humanitarian Award Recipients:
2015 – Bruce & Kay Broderius
2014 – Dick & Reva Bond
2013 – George & Betty Hall
2012 – Dick & Irene Boettcher
2011 – Lee & Colleen Yoder
2010 - Pete & Jean Morrell
2009 - Herrick & Diane Garnsey
2008 - Richard Monfort
2007 - Ken Whitney
2006 - Dr. Tony & Sarah Fink
2005 - Donald Cummins
2004 - Dr. Richard Kemme
2003 – Jean Hoshiko
2002 – Norm & Bonnie Dean
2001 – Frank & Donna Lakin
2000 – Julianne Haefeli
1999 – Harold & Carol Evans
1998 – Kay Kosmicki
1997 – W.D. Farr
1996 – Don Cook
1995 – Mike Geile
1994 – Larry Menefee
1993 – Joe Tennessen
1992 – John & Tate Todd
1991 – Harold & Florence Winograd
1990 – Robert & Betty Tointon
1989 – Kenneth W. Monfort